Information on Regional District Taxes

Posted Monday, June 19, 2017

The Regional District of North Okanagan (RDNO) is comprised of 6 municipalities (Vernon, Coldstream, Armstrong, Enderby, Lumby and Spallumcheen) and 5 unincorporated areas (Electoral Areas “B”, “C”, “D”, “E” and “F”).  The cost of Regional District services is shared by the municipalities and electoral areas participating in each service according to an agreed upon formula contained in the service establishment bylaw. 

Following adoption of the annual financial plan:

  • each Municipality is provided with a requisition invoice which includes that municipality’s share of all the Regional District services they participate in; and,
  • service participation costs for Electoral Areas are sent to the Province of BC who collect Regional District taxes along with provincial rural area and school taxes.

More information regarding property taxes is available from the Ministry of Provincial Revenue - Taxation Branch (or visit the Government of BC website and search for 'Property Taxes')

Electoral Areas

There are five levies that appear on the Province of BC tax notice.

Province of BC Tax Notice Heading Destination of taxes raised Purpose
School Tax Province of BC General Revenue Fund Supplement School Funding
Rural Area Tax Act Province of BC General Revenue Fund Rural area services such as rural secondary roads
Assessment Authority British Columbia Assessment Authority Funding the BC Assessment Authority
Municipal Finance Municipal Finance Authority of BC Operating levy for the Municipal Finance Authority
Police Tax Province of BC General Revenue Fund Operating levy for the RCMP.  The police tax is the same within each regional district electoral area.

Taxes for regional district services or improvement districts will also appear on the Province of BC tax notice.  Regional District taxes are calculated in one of two ways:

  • General tax levies for Regional District Services are levied on land and improvements, land only or improvements only.  You may also see other services listed – most often water, sewer, street lighting and fire protection.  These are shown separately because not everyone in the Electoral Area pays for these services.
  • “Parcel Taxes” spread the cost of a service equally among taxpayers in a service area regardless of the assessed value.

In addition to the RDNO taxes, electoral area property owners pay a local service tax to the Columbia Shuswap Hospital District for the building of new hospitals, improvements, major renovations, and machinery and equipment purchases.  The cost is shared on a 60% Provincial and 40% Regional District basis.

Information regarding the services each Municipality and Electoral Area participate in (pay for):

The RDNO cannot issue property tax notices or accept payment for property taxes.  Information on how to pay your taxes or claim your homeowner grant can be found on the provincial website: