HomeAbout → Elections & Assent Voting

Elections & Assent Voting

Assent Voting

Assent Voting (Referendum) is used by local governments to obtain the assent of the electors to a particular bylaw or on a specific question, either because this method of assent is required or because this method is preferred by the local government.

More information may be obtained by contacting:
Paddy Juniper
Deputy Corporate Officer
250.550.3708 / [email protected]

2015 Assent Voting - Vernon & District Multi-Use Facility Expansion (Second Ice Sheet)

For additional information on the proposed project please visit:


2014 General Local Election and Assent Voting - Water


The next General Local Election will be held in 2018.

The Regional District of North Okanagan includes 5 Electoral Areas and elections for Directors to represent the electoral areas occur every four (4) years commencing in 2014.  As part of the General Local Election system in British Columbia, Directors may be elected by acclamation (in the case of a single qualified candidate) or by voting (where there is more than one qualified candidate).

The 6 Municipal partners in the Regional District of North Okanagan which include the City of Armstrong, District of Coldstream, City of Enderby, Village of Lumby, Township of Spallumcheen, and the City of Vernon appoint representatives to the Regional Board from those people elected to their individual councils.