Home → About

About RDNO

Established in 1965, the Regional District of North Okanagan (RDNO) is one of 28 regional districts in the province of British Columbia.  The RDNO provides a variety of services, such as building inspection, parks and recreation programs and facilities, solid waste management, to more than 87,000 North Okanagan residents.

The Regional District functions as a partnership of the six municipalities (Armstrong, Coldstream, Enderby, Lumby, Spallumcheen, and Vernon) and the five electoral areas (B – BX/Swan Lake, C – BX/Silver Star, D – Rural Lumby, E-Cherryville, and F- Rural Enderby) within its boundaries.

Local governments in the North Okanagan work together through the Regional District to provide and coordinate services in both urban and rural areas.

Services provided by the RDNO include, but are not limited to:

  • Building Inspection
  • Planning and Development services
  • Parks, Recreation and Culture programs and facilities
  • Greater Vernon Water
  • Animal Control
  • Regional Transit 
  • Fire Protection
  • Invasive Plant Control
  • Solid Waste Management
  • Recycling & Waste Reduction
  • Victims Assistance

Please Note:
The information contained on this website has been provided for your convenience only.  The RDNO cannot guarantee the accuracy of information on this website - please contact us to obtain official copies of bylaws, or clarification.