Coldstream and Kalamalka Lake

About the RDNO

The Regional District of North Okanagan was incorporated in 1965 to provide regional decision-making on issues that transcend municipal boundaries. It is one of 27 regional districts in the province of British Columbia. The RDNO provides a variety of services, such as building inspection, parks and recreation programs and facilities, drinking and agricultural water, and solid waste management, to more than 91,000 North Okanagan residents.

Working Together

The RDNO functions as a partnership between the five electoral areas (B – Swan Lake/Commonage, C – BX/Silver Star, D – Rural Lumby, E-Cherryville, and F- Rural Enderby) the six municipalities (Armstrong, Coldstream, Enderby, Lumby, Spallumcheen, and Vernon) within its boundaries.

Electoral Areas and municipal governments in the North Okanagan work together through the Regional District Board of Directors to provide and coordinate services in both urban and rural areas. Learn more about the services the RDNO provides.

One Region, One Future 

The RDNO’s tagline One Region, One Future speaks to the founding principles of Regional Districts and sets the stage for future cooperation and collaboration. 

The RDNO has three purposes:

  1. It is the local government for the electoral areas of the North Okanagan and is responsible for providing basic local services such as community planning.
  2. It is a regional service body responsible for providing essential regional services to all jurisdictions within the North Okanagan, such as solid waste management planning.
  3. It is an inter-jurisdictional service body that provides local government services on a sub-regional basis across jurisdictional boundaries to different combinations of municipalities and electoral areas, such as Greater Vernon Water.

Find a Department

Find a Department

Work with the RDNO

Planning staff at the front counter handing out a permit

Join our team!