Property Taxes

The RDNO does not issue property tax notices nor does it accept payment for property taxes. 

Property owners within the City of Armstrong, District of Coldstream, City of Enderby, Village of Lumby, Township of Spallumcheen and City of Vernon should contact their municipality for property tax information.

Rural property owners (Electoral Areas B, C, D, E or F) will have tax notices sent to them from the Surveyor of Taxes in Victoria.  The Province collects your rural, school and regional district taxes.  For more information regarding your property taxes or to find information on how to claim your homeowner grant, please visit the BC property taxes webpage.

Payment Options

The Regional District does not issue property tax notices, and as such we do not collect payments for them.

Residents should contact their local municipality for payment information.

Residents that live in the electoral areas should visit BC’s how to pay your property taxes webpage.

Tax Calculation

The cost of Regional District services may be shared between several municipalities and electoral areas according to an agreed upon formula contained in the service establishment bylaw. 

Following the adoption of the annual financial plan each municipality is provided with a requisition invoice which includes that municipality’s share of all the Regional District services for their area. 

If your property is not located in a city, town, district or village, it is in a rural area.  The service participation costs for electoral areas are sent to the Province of BC who collect our Regional District taxes along with provincial rural area and school taxes.  For more information regarding your property taxes go to the Ministry of Provincial Revenue-Taxation Branch.

There are five levies that appear on the Province of BC tax notice that go to various provincial taxing authorities.  There may be additional levies by a regional district or improvement district for specific communities.

Province of BC Tax Notice Heading Destination of taxes raised Purpose
School Tax  Province of BC K-12 School Funding
Rural Area Tax Act Province of BC Rural area services such as rural secondary roads
Assessment Authority British Columbia Assessment Authority Funding the BC Assessment Authority
Municipal Finance Municipal Finance Authority of BC Operating levy for the Municipal Finance Authority
Police Tax Province of BC Operating levy for the Provincial RCMP 

Rural Property owners in the Regional District of North Okanagan are divided up into Electoral Areas, B, C, D, E and F on the tax notice sent from the Province of BC. 

Regional District taxes are shown on the property tax notice as RDNO with the Electoral Area, RDNO with the specific local service. Taxes listed under “Local Services” are levied either on land and improvements, land only or improvements only. Taxes shown under “Parcel Taxes” are generally a fixed fee.

In addition to the Regional District of North Okanagan taxes, rural property owners pay a property tax to the Columbia Shuswap Hospital District for the building of new hospitals, improvements, major renovations and equipment purchases. The cost is shared on a 60% Provincial and 40% Regional District basis.

Information about what services your Area or jurisdiction pays for can be found here: Service by Jurisdiction.