How We Are Governed

The Regional District of North Okanagan is governed by a 14-member Board of Directors, which serves as a political forum and a vehicle for advancing the interests of the region as a whole. The Board is composed of one or more elected official from each of the local governments within the RDNO boundaries:

  • For areas outside municipal boundaries (electoral areas), citizens elect one director to the Board during general local elections.
  • Each municipal council appoints one or more elected official to the Board. The formula is one director for every 2,500 population (or portion thereof).

The Regional Board establishes the vision of the RDNO, sets priorities and provides direction on service delivery, collaboration and partnerships. Various committees oversee delivery of services and report to the Board of Directors.

The Chair and Vice Chair of the Regional Board are elected from among the directors at an inaugural meeting held each November.  Next, the Regional Board Chair assigns membership for various committees.